Migrant Ireland
Migrant Ireland

Medical cards
Entitlement to health services
Maternity Services
Private Health Care
European Health Insurance Card (EHIC)
Early childhood education
Primary Schools
Post-Primary Schools

Third level education

Universities in Ireland are state-funded - there are 4 universities in Ireland. These include:

The National University of Ireland (NUI), which is the umbrella university covering
University College Dublin
University College Galway
University College Cork
St. Patrick's College in Maynooth.

The NUI also has 3 recognised colleges. These are the National College of Art and Design, the Royal College of Surgeons and St. Angela's College of Education.

The University of Dublin, which is generally known as Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

The University of Limerick (UL)

Dublin City University (DCU)

There are also 14 Institutes of Technology and Regional Technical Colleges
Dublin, Cork, Waterford, Tralee, Dundalk, Athlone, Galway, Sligo, Letterkenny, Limerick, Castlebar and Carlow. These colleges run courses in Engineering, Computing, Science, Business, Catering and a wide range of other areas.
Students generally qualify with a National Certificate or Diploma, although Degree courses are also available in some colleges.

Other colleges

In addition to State-funded colleges, a number of fee-paying third-level educational institutions offer courses, mainly in professional vocational training and business. Some of these colleges are linked to universities or professional associations and their qualifications may be accredited accordingly